Kimchi Jjigae Recipe- easy, user friendly and delicious! 

I have four favorite Korean dishes and have mastered the art of cooking three of them. Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll be sharing my recipes with you. I cannot take credit for these recipes since I got most of it from books and the help of Korean coworkers. I also adjusted some ingredients to taste, so please keep in mind that I still remain waygook with very waygookin tastebuds… I’ve been assured though that Korean recipes are different from region to region and that every family has their own little twist, so these are still 100 % Korean.

Ingredients

4 ounces of pork, cut into pieces (I like to use pieces with some bone, as it adds to the flavor of the broth)

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon Korean chili paste (gochujang)

3 cloves garlic, sliced

1 cup cabbage kimchi (baechu kimchi)

2 cups water

6 ounces of medium-soft tofu, diced

2 green onions, cut into 1-inch lengths

Method

  • Heat a saucepan over medium heat. Add the pork, sesame oil, chili paste, and garlic. Stir fry for 5-6 minutes.
  • Add the kimchi, kimchi liquid, and water. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer the stew uncovered for 6-8 minutes.
  • Add the green onions and tofu to the stew. Simmer until the tofu is heated through, about 2 minutes.
  • Serve immediately with rice and other side dishes.

Please let me know what you thought of this Kimchi Jjigae recipe- I would love to hear about variations and how you made it your own.

Hot tip: If you use a traditional Korean Hot Pot instead of a saucepan, your Kimchi Jjigae will stay heated for longer.

Leave a Reply

